Who We Are

Great Scientific Minds that Work Hard, Play Hard

HMachado1_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Heather Machado, PhD

Principal Investigator
Associate Professor
Wife, Mom, Artist, Runner, Saints die hard, Disney nut
hmachado@tulane.edu

Burke cell culture.jpeg

Caitlin Burke

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
Dog lover, Yogi, Plant mama, Bike enthusiast, Always refills the Brita filter
cburke10@tulane.edu

Michelle Headshot.jpg

Michelle Rojo

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
mrojo@tulane.edu

Professional Photo.jpg

Alexa Dow, MS

Research Associate
Storyteller, Educator, Health advocate, Plant enthusiast, Dog mom
adow1@tulane.edu

IMG_0965_edited.jpg

Sam Embrey

Graduate Student

PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences

sembrey@tulane.edu

IMG_9676.jpg

Emily Phillips

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
ephillips1@tulane.edu

Megan Matherne

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
Cat person, lover of succulents and giant sweatshirts, wife and mom
mguilbeau@tulane.edu

637539956127471454.jpg

Scout Treadwell

MD Student
Baker, traveler, foodie, Peloton enthusiast
streadwell@tulane.edu

Screen Shot 2021-03-07 at 10.19.42 AM.png

 Emma Newton, MS

MD/MPH Student and DeBakey Scholar
Avid runner/hiker, singer, piano player, ice cream enthusiast
enewton@tulane.edu

 
 

Interested in joining the Machado Lab? Contact us to apply!

Dr. Heather Machado

hmachado@tulane.edu