top of page

Who We Are

Great Scientific Minds that Work Hard, Play Hard

HMachado1_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Heather Machado, PhD

Principal Investigator
Associate Professor
Wife, Mom, Artist, Runner, Saints die hard, Disney nut
hmachado@tulane.edu

Burke cell culture_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Caitlin Burke

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
Dog lover, Yogi, Plant mama, Bike enthusiast, Always refills the Brita filter
cburke10@tulane.edu

Michelle Headshot.jpg

Michelle Rojo

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
mrojo@tulane.edu

Alexa_Sturtz_Headshot.jpg

Alexa Dow Sturtz, MS

Research Associate
MPH Graduate Student
Wife, Mom, Lifelong learner, Health advocate, Plant enthusiast, Dog lover
adow1@tulane.edu

IMG_0965_edited.jpg

Sam Embrey

Graduate Student

PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences

sembrey@tulane.edu

IMG_9676.jpg

Emily Phillips

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
ephillips1@tulane.edu

Tulane_Med_RC1_9095.jpg

Megan Matherne

Graduate Student
PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
Cat person, Lover of succulents and giant sweatshirts, Wife, Mom
mguilbeau@tulane.edu

637539956127471454.jpg

Scout Treadwell

MD Student
Baker, Traveler, Foodie, Peloton enthusiast
streadwell@tulane.edu

EmmaNewton.jpeg

 Emma Newton, MS

MD/MPH Student and DeBakey Scholar
Avid runner/hiker, Singer, Piano player, Ice cream enthusiast
enewton@tulane.edu

CalebBrown.jpeg

Caleb Brown

Undergraduate Student
Cell and Molecular Biology, Class of 2023
Dog lover, intense Miami Heat fan, Volleyball athlete, Decent chef
cbrown63@tulane.edu

HannahFriedlander_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Hannah Friedlander

Undergraduate Student
Exercise Science and Dance, Class of 2025
Dancer, Book lover, Traveler, Coffee lover
hfriedlander@tulane.edu

Lab Members: Our Team
Lab Members: Text

Interested in joining the Machado Lab? Contact us to apply!

Dr. Heather Machado

hmachado@tulane.edu

Lab Members: Text
bottom of page